Too much of a good thing……is great!

21 Mar

I’m just now getting underway in my 7th month of being a big old gal.  Lumbering around like a giant penguin.  Seriously I think what I do these days instead of being called walking could be described as wobbling from side to side.  I’m not going to present a list of all the gripes one might have during pregnancy…boring!  Actually I have been quite comfortable (interpret loosely) and have had a pretty easy (read: boring) pregnancy.  Which is just the way I like it!

I did get around to thinking, however, of the differences between being pregnant stateside and here in Greece on the island of Crete.  Even though technically I am still in Europe, I am really not in Europe.  Crete has always occupied its own continent in my mind.  The same rules do not apply here as they do there.  But that’s besides the point.  I put together a short list inspired by the frequent “What to Expect” emails I receive a few times a week. Here it is:

Here’s some of the things you can find in the USofA:

prenatal massage

prenatal yoga

lactation consultant / breastfeeding classes

birthing classes: lamaze etc…

birth plans

the option to have a home/water/non medical birth

chiropractors experienced with pregnant women

parenting classes

cheap baby supplies (not made in china)

mom groups

dad groups

moms and tots groups

medicaid

just to name a few

Here on Crete you can expect:

Prenatal care at your gyno or hospital

fresh air

nice scenery

meat!

Here’s to 12 more weeks of sobriety!

IMAGE5

Leave a Reply

